The Office of Physical Plant oversaw the removal of Abbot Hall’s 1,100-pound observatory dome on October 21 for five weeks of structural repairs and the addition of watertight copper sheathing. The galvanized steel dome—painted gray-green to look like copper patina—has been an iconic architectural feature of the Abbot Academy campus since 1875. The new dome, now weighing in at 1,600 pounds, was installed on December 5 and should be maintenance free for at least 75 years. (Photos by Neil Evans and Jill Clerkin)Read More
These photos are for personal use only. They cannot be resold or used for commercial or promotional purposes. To view photos from 2008-2011, visit our photo archive. Athletics photos are made possible in part by a grant from the Abbot Academy Association, which seeks to foster and promote the legacy and spirit of Abbot Academy in the programs of Phillips Academy.